No, But They All Have Pretty Diplomas Anyway! So They Can Feel Good About Themselves!

TV Review: ‘Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader?’

THE CONTESTANTS: Ugh.
I hope it’s a case that American adults just forget little unused details from school that aren’t often used or recalled, and not the fact that they never learned the knowledge they are lacking.

Last night, a contestant named Larry (a college grad) had trouble counting the letter “e” in a phrase, he didn’t know how many teaspoons in a tablespoon (which I didn’t get right either…it’s 3, not 2), almost choked on multiplying 2 times 5, and he bragged that he wanted to buy a camouflage Lamborghini. (”Great. You want a $400,000 car, with a paint job so no one can see it.” Foxworthy joked. Perfect comedic timing.)

If the producers were in fact aiming to feature the beautiful, yet brainless, they have succeeded in spades.

I haven’t seen this. Want to, though.

Like the reviewer, I grew up watching many game shows too. In adulthood, I’m not so much a viewer, but I do love Who Wants To Be A Millionaire (bring back Super Millionaire, damn you ABC!) and I did watch most of the new ones they plopped into primetime over the past ten(?) years.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

