Now NBC Has Pissed Me Off!

August 13, 2007

A series that just got on my radar — Chuck — has been leaked!

I mean, come on! It looks like Greg Brady for the ’00s!

chuck01.jpg
Greg, is that you?

chuck02.jpg
Greg, what are you doing looking so young?

chuck03.jpg
Hey, Greg, how’s Marcia and Jan?

gregbrady.jpg
Not Chuck: Greg Brady!!

chuck04.jpg

Previously in this blog:
Journeyman: Interesting Bits
Hey You Three. Email NBC!
Journeyman Still Not Leaked
September 2005: NBC Promotes A New Earl Show
I Give NBC A Kick To The Nuts. It’s Called An Incentive.
Now Sinfest Persecutes Me!
Hey, NBC! Leak Journeyman, Dammit!!
Bourne Ultimatum? Yes. Journeyman? No.
Hollywood: Settle!
Brightcove: Journeyman Preview
DailyMotion: Ha. Ha. Ha.
Are The Suits Using P2P To Hype Their Shows?


Journeyman: Interesting Bits

August 13, 2007

NEW SHOWS: IS ‘JOURNEYMAN’ TV’S TAKE ON ‘TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE’?

In “Journeyman,” a San Francisco reporter, Dan Vasser, discovers he can travel back in time. It becomes clear that there’s a reason for this ability: He’s meant to change the past in certain ways involving a stranger. But he has trouble resisting the opportunity to change things in more personal ways, especially since, in the past, he’s able to see once again the fiance he believes died in a plane crash.

BY THE BOOK?
When the “Time Traveler’s Wife” comparisons first surfaced (first question!), creator Kevin Falls joked “I didn’t read ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’. Let’s just remember right now, I don’t want to start litigation, I did not read ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’.” Falls later said he read “50 pages” of the book when comparisons began to arise, and that he felt the two concepts were very different.

Dammit. I saw this book when it first came out and forgot to request it at the NYPL (just did!).

And in the Comments of the above is this bit:

My brother works in the film business and sent me a copy of the pilot…its absolutely incredible!!

[sarcasm on] Wonderful! [sarcasm off]

Why should NBC be leaking Journeyman like crazy? Look at this press release about public awareness of new TV series:

Top 10 New Shows on Awareness
Bionic Woman (NBC)
Cavemen (ABC)
Kid Nation (CBS)
Pushing Daisies (ABC)
Cane (CBS)
Next Great American Band (FOX)
K-Ville (FOX)
Journeyman (NBC)
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Reaper (CW)**
Gossip Girl (CW)**
Chuck (NBC)**

**indicates tie for 10th place

Out of ten, it’s only number eight! Even worse:

Top 5 New Shows on Intent to View (Will Definitely Watch)
Bionic Woman (NBC)
Cavemen (ABC)
Kitchen Nightmares (FOX)
Private Practice (ABC)
Cane (CBS)*
Pushing Daisies (ABC)*
K-Ville (FOX)*
Kid Nation (CBS)*
Reaper (CW)*
Next Great American Band (FOX)*
Journeyman (NBC)*
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)*

It then drops to number nine! Even worse:

Top 5 New Shows on Buzz
Cavemen (ABC)
Bionic Woman (NBC)
Kid Nation (CBS)
Pushing Daisies (ABC)
Kitchen Nightmares (FOX)*
Private Practice (ABC)*

*indicates tie for 5th place

It’s not even in the Top Five of Buzz!

How sick is that?

And guess what, NBC? One of those Top Five Buzz series? One of them is the pilot from ABC another broadcast network that’s been leaked onto the Net!

Personally, even though I’m delighted that my surname will soon be on everyone’s lips thanks to CBS — and that series is number five on two of the three listsI have absolutely no plans to watch it!

And this: Everyone keeps mentioning Quantum Leap in the same breath as Journeyman. Stop it already. It’s not. And I hated Quantum Leap and couldn’t watch a single episode.

Journeyman is the only series that interests me.

Leak the damn thing, NBC. Get the buzz started!

Additional:
The Time Traveler’s Wife – Prologue

Bonus:
NBC shows some clips in a Primetime Preview — embedded video. Screensnaps:

nbcj01a.jpg

nbcj02a.jpg

nbcj03a.jpg

nbcj04a.jpg

nbcj05a.jpg

nbcj06a.jpg

nbcj07a.jpg

nbcj08a.jpg

nbcj09a.jpg

nbcj10a.jpg

nbcj11a.jpg

nbcj12a.jpg

nbcj13a.jpg

nbcj14a.jpg

nbcj15a.jpg

Previously in this blog:
Hey You Three. Email NBC!
Journeyman Still Not Leaked
September 2005: NBC Promotes A New Earl Show
I Give NBC A Kick To The Nuts. It’s Called An Incentive.
Now Sinfest Persecutes Me!
Hey, NBC! Leak Journeyman, Dammit!!
Bourne Ultimatum? Yes. Journeyman? No.
Hollywood: Settle!
Brightcove: Journeyman Preview
DailyMotion: Ha. Ha. Ha.
Are The Suits Using P2P To Hype Their Shows?


Hey You Three. Email NBC!

August 13, 2007

Search result that brought people to this blog:

journeyman leak 3

Or signup and post on their damned board!

BCJman08

BCJman09

Nope, not leaked yet. I’ve looked. I do that just about the first thing when I get on the Net.

And, hey NBC, consider this:

Whether it is on purpose or not, these pre-airs that have surfaced on the net are serving a purpose. They are building a fan base and at the same time turning people off, which is actually a good thing.

Let’s use some simple numbers. 1,000,000 download the leaks. 500,000 like it and decide to become viewers of the show. 500,000 decide not to. — So the TV airing have gained 500k constant viewers instead of getting 1,000,000 on week one, and then the next week having that drop dramatically by 50%, which doesn’t look good.

Get what I mean?

That’s a post on a site devoted to a TV series whose pilot has already been leaked. (No, I won’t provide a link or other details. Except to say it’s a pilot for ABC — uh, a rival broadcast network!)

Previously in this blog:
Journeyman Still Not Leaked
September 2005: NBC Promotes A New Earl Show
I Give NBC A Kick To The Nuts. It’s Called An Incentive.
Now Sinfest Persecutes Me!
Hey, NBC! Leak Journeyman, Dammit!!
Bourne Ultimatum? Yes. Journeyman? No.
Hollywood: Settle!
Brightcove: Journeyman Preview
DailyMotion: Ha. Ha. Ha.
Are The Suits Using P2P To Hype Their Shows?


Hey You Three. Get Out Of My Blog!

August 13, 2007

Search result that brought people to this blog:

fuck america 3


Worse Than Any Terrorist Could Do

August 13, 2007

Scientist makes dire earthquake prediction

“There will be several thousand dead and billions of dollars in damage,” said Lucy Jones, a seismologist at the U.S. Geological Survey and a member of the California Seismic Safety Commission. She also said a devastating quake could topple buildings as far away as Los Angeles.

Top Seismologist: Southern California Due For Major Quake

August 10, 2007 – A top seismologist is warning that another major earthquake is in our future, a big one that could devastate Southern California, from the desert to the sea.

quake-01.jpg

quake-02.jpg

quake-03.jpg

quake-04.jpg

quake-05.jpg

quake-06.jpg

quake-07.jpg

quake-08.jpg

quake-08a.jpg
Close-up

quake-09.jpg

quake-10.jpg

quake-11.jpg

quake-12.jpg

quake-13.jpg

quake-14.jpg

quake-15.jpg

Additional:
Etho-Geological Forecasting: Unusual Animal Behavior & Earthquake Prediction

I personally experienced the latter phenomenon myself prior to a Los Angeles earthquake in 1990. I was in graduate school working on the fifth floor of the USC Neuroscience Building’s Learning and Memory lab with several other students, and three calm rabbits. Suddenly the rabbits became noticeably agitated. They started hopping around in their cages wildly for around five minutes, right before a 5.2 earthquake sent the whole building rolling and swaying.

AN EVALUATION OF THE ANIMAL-BEHAVIOR THEORY For Earthquake Prediction

The animal-behavior theory for predicting earthquakes assumes that pets leave their homes, places normally secure and comforting, in order to escape a disturbance or danger in their surroundings just before an earthquake. In practice the theory is based on the assumption that more pets run away from home at such times than at any other time. The hypothesis states that when quantities of missing pets increase extraordinarily, there is a marked increase in the probability of a forthcoming earthquake (Maryanski, 1985; Allstetter, 1986).

Earthquake Prediction in China – Monitoring Animal Behavior

In 1920, the largest earthquake to hit China with a magnitude of 8.5 occurred in Haiyuan County, Ninghxia Province. According to reports of eyewitnesses, prior to this earthquake, wolves were seen running around in packs, dogs were barking unusually, and sparrows were flying around wildly. It is reported that prior to the 6.8 magnitude earthquake in 1966 in Hsingtai County, Hopei Province, in Northern China, all the dogs at a village near the epicenter had deserted their kennels and thus survived the disaster.

Earthquake Prediction Online — SyzygyJob

QuakeFinder

Experts can’t predict Big One? How ’bout pets?

“As a scientist, I’d like to say ‘never say never,'” said USGS geologist David Schwartz, chief of the San Francisco Bay Area Earthquake Hazards Project. “But to get to this short-term prediction from a magnetometer reading, or a horse running around a corral, or your kitty running away — I think that’s very marginal.”

Bonus:
YouTube Earthquake Prediction series — user index from Quake Prediction

DVD Bonus:
The Big One: The Great Los Angeles Earthquake (1990) (TV)

bigonedvd.jpg


Caffeine Nation

August 13, 2007

Teenage girl rushed to hospital after overdosing on coffee

A teenager was rushed to hospital after overdosing on espresso coffee.

The 17-year-old downed seven double espresso coffees while working in the family’s sandwich shop and was left “burning up and hyperventilating”.

Student Jasmine Willis, who thought the coffees were single measures, said the effects of the espresso were so severe her actions left customers bewildered.

She said she started laughing and crying for no reason while serving them, but after being sent home by her father Gary the medical symptoms started. She developed a fever at home and was unable to breathe properly.

Additional:
Consumer briefs: Energy drinks versus coffee
Energy drinks with alcohol stir fears
Energy drinks: Are they bad for my heart?

Previously in this blog:
Ah, Now I’ll Never Have To Try Red Bullshit!


Chinese Take-Out

August 13, 2007

Chinese toy boss ‘kills himself’

The boss of a Chinese toy firm involved in a huge safety recall has committed suicide, Chinese media has said.

Zhang Shuhong, who co-owned the Lee Der Toy Company, was reportedly found dead at his factory in southern China.

About 1.5 million toys made for Fisher Price, a subsidiary of US giant Mattel, were withdrawn from sale earlier this month. Many were made by Lee Der.

The recalled toys include characters from Sesame Street’s Big Bird and Elmo, and Nickelodeon’s Dora the Explorer.

And:

The news report did not give a reason for Zhang’s apparent suicide, but Lee Der was known to be under pressure after the huge product recall.

Fisher Price announced on 2 August that it was recalling some of Lee Der’s Chinese-made toys, in a move affecting 83 product-types sold around the world, including the US and the UK.

An internal investigation found the toys had been made using a non-approved paint pigment which contained excessive amounts of lead, violating safety standards.

A manager at Lee Der blamed its paint supplier for the incident, according to the Southern Metropolitan Daily.

Chinese-made products have come under increasing international scrutiny in recent months, after a series of safety scandals.

Previously in this blog:
The Shadow Of Doomsday Appears…
China: Lost In Translation
China Wants To Join The Rest Of The World
China Does The Right Thing
China: Will That Country Wind Up Killing Us All?
Kenneth Che-Tew Eng Is Pimping An Asian Mein Kampf Book Proposal!
The Day Will Come When The Suits Will Hang For Their Many Money-Grubbing Sins
When Your Child Dies, Remember To Thank Your Republican-Voting God For The Free Market!
The China Syndrome
The Algorithm Is Ask.com!
Is It Happening In America?
The Answer Is Yes
Healthy, Immortal Chinese To Conquer Sick, Dying World
Yeah, I Know. But It’s Just So Damned FUNNY!
China Sets Blog Record Here!
Hello To China
Another Fake
Fake iPod Nano Fondle


Addendum To The Prior Post

August 13, 2007

Last post.

Addendum:

Church Cancels Memorial for Gay Vet

ARLINGTON, Texas – A megachurch canceled a memorial service for a Navy veteran 24 hours before it was to start because the deceased was gay.

Officials at the nondenominational High Point Church knew that Cecil Howard Sinclair was gay when they offered to host his service, said his sister, Kathleen Wright. But after his obituary listed his life partner as one of his survivors, she said, it was called off.

“It’s a slap in the face. It’s like, ‘Oh, we’re sorry he died, but he’s gay so we can’t help you,'” she said Friday.

I wonder what god they worship at that church? It can’t be this one:

Mark 2:15-16 (New Living Translation): Later, Levi invited Jesus and his disciples to his home as dinner guests, along with many tax collectors and other disreputable sinners. (There were many people of this kind among Jesus’ followers.) But when the teachers of religious law who were Pharisees saw him eating with tax collectors and other sinners, they asked his disciples, “Why does he eat with such scum?”

A popular aphoristic question is WWJD? — What Would Jesus Do?

I think it should be changed to WJBAOM? — Would Jesus Be Ashamed Of Me?

Or how about AIALAP? — Am I Acting Like A Pharisee?

Previously in this blog:
The Homo Fag Queer We All Owe


Found On MySpace

August 13, 2007

I am the boy who never finished high school, because I got called a fag everyday

I am the girl kicked out of her home because I confided in my mother that I am a lesbian.

I am the prostitute working the streets because nobody will hire a transsexual woman.

I am the sister who holds her gay brother tight through the painful, tear-filled nights.

We are the parents who buried our daughter long before her time.

I am the man who died alone in the hospital because they would not let my partner of twenty-seven years into the room.

I am the foster child who wakes up with nightmares of being taken away from the two fathers who are the only loving family I have ever had. I wish they could adopt me.

I am not one of the lucky ones. I killed myself just weeks before graduating high school. It was simply too much to bear.

We are the couple who had the Realtor hang up on us when she found out we wanted to rent a one-bedroom for two men.

I am the person who never knows which bathroom I should use if I want to avoid getting the management called on me.

I am the mother who is not allowed to even visit the children I bore, nursed, and raised. The court says I am an unfit mother because I now live with another woman.

I am the domestic-violence survivor who found the support system grow suddenly cold and distant when they found out my abusive partner is also a woman.

I am the domestic-violence survivor who has no support system to turn to because I am male.

I am the father who has never hugged his son because I grew up afraid to show affection to other men.

I am the home-economics teacher who always wanted to teach gym until someone told me that only lesbians do that.

I am the woman who died when the EMT’s stopped treating me as soon as they realized I was transsexual.

I am the person who feels guilty because I think I could be a much better person if I didn’t have to always deal with society hating me.

I am the man who stopped attending church, not because I dont believe, but because they closed their doors to my kind.

I am the person who has to hide what this world needs most, love.

I am the person ashamed to tell my own friends I’m a lesbian, because they constantly make fun of them.

I am the boy tied to a fence, beaten to a bloody pulp and left to die because two straight men wanted to “teach me a lesson”

Previously in this blog:
The Homo Fag Queer We All Owe


Recently Read & Now Reading: August 13 2007

August 13, 2007

Recently read:

Cassidy’s Girl by David Goodis

The Blonde on the Street Corner
by David Goodis

Now reading:

About Time (short stories) by Jack Finney
(a re-read or 2nd re-read…)

Allegedly next up:

Replay by Ken Grimwood
(a 2nd re-read)

Bonus: Some sort of storyboard for a proposed movie of Cassidy’s Girl.

Second bonus: Interesting blog, Rough Edges.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers