Real Life Leaves Me Speechless

When hospitals host family reunions: More about how racism destroys families

A month ago, my uncle tried to kill my aunt by shooting her in the head with a shotgun, and then he killed himself with it. It happened the day after I had emailed my last post to Carmen, and she had told me it would go up at the end of that same week. When my mom called me to tell me what had happened, I almost emailed Carmen to tell her to hold my post.

See, the aunt and uncle involved in this incident were the very same ones I mentioned in my poem from the previous post. If you read it, you know that when I was a teenager, I ran away from home and lived with an aunt and uncle who later kicked me out of their house and called me a “Nigger lover” for wanting to date a black guy at school.

Comments are closed.

