Apple Safari Browser For Win XP: Super Fast And Super Sick

So my jaw is dropping and bouncing on the floor trying out Safari. The speed of page builds is just incredible. I’ve never had page builds this fast. It really is like having a whole new Net connection!  (Yes, even on the rotten Time Warner Roadrunner!)On the other hand, in the first ten minutes of using it, I’ve already had two crashes!The first time I had three tabs open. I wanted to save the third one as a Bookmark. I right-clicked on the tab. But the only option I was given was to make a Bookmark for all three tabs! I hit Cancel on the dialog for that and CRASH!The second time I was looking to see if I could get floating info boxes for the icons to the left of the Address bar (a standard Windows feature; just hover the pointer over something). I couldn’t figure out what the asterisk-like icon was for. No floating info, so I just clicked on it. It seemed to be a problem-reporting feature. When I clicked Cancel on that dialog, CRASH!I’m not sure if I’ll make Safari my primary browser even though it kicks Firefox’s ass for speed. The thing is, I’m dependent on too many Firefox extensions. Plus, as I’m seeing right now, Safari lacks the built-in spellcheck Fox offers! (Boy, I hope I’ve caught the typos in this post. I am the Wurld’s Wurst Prufreeder!)Testing will continue.One thing though: Oh my god, the iPhone with Safari must really be something!Pre-post update: OK, this is Not Good. Safari just lost all the blank lines in this post during one Save and Continue Editing moment. Yecch.Back to the drawing board, Apple! I’m going back to Firefox for now.

3 Responses to Apple Safari Browser For Win XP: Super Fast And Super Sick

  1. […] Apple Safari Browser For Win XP: Super Fast And Super Sick So my jaw is dropping and bouncing on the floor trying out Safari. The speed of page builds is just incredible. […] […]

  2. […] Alec Saunders: Take a pass on Safari * Chris Pirillo: Safari on Windows? Yawn. * Mike Cane: Apple Safari Browser For Win XP: Super Fast And Super Sick * Ars Technica: Microsoft, Mozilla execs respond to Safari on Windows announcement * Ars Technica: […]

  3. […] Alec Saunders: Take a pass on Safari * Chris Pirillo: Safari on Windows? Yawn. * Mike Cane: Apple Safari Browser For Win XP: Super Fast And Super Sick * Ars Technica: Microsoft, Mozilla execs respond to Safari on Windows announcement * Ars Technica: […]

