Why VISA Card USA Sucks Ass

I need to pay for image storage space here at WordPress.

Being someone who has never had (because he’s never been offered) plastic, and lacking a bank account (that’s another story for another time), the only way I can do this is to get one of those prepaid debit cards so I can transfer money into a PayPal account (which I have to create) to then transfer funds over to WordPress.

I’ve done my research about which prepaid card is the best. It’s the Visa Reloadable Prepaid Card. It’s straight from VISA, not an intermediary, and offers no maintenance fees for the first six months of use.

So I go to that link to find a retailer I can get it from.

And this is why VISA USA sucks ass: Despite their claim that it’s widely available at Walgreens, CVS, and Rite-Aid, all I find when I go to those places are the dreaded Green Dot version of VISA!

Each of these stores have standing displays for prepaid debit and gift cards. When it comes to the debit cards, Green Dot owns the damned space! Nothing but Green Dot.

Green Dot dings you $4.95 a month for maintenance right off the bat!

Green Dot might be a very fine service, but goddammit, I want the VISA card VISA shows on their own site!

As if it wasn’t bad enough that these three major retailers aren’t carrying the card VISA claims they are, other non-chain retailers I’ve visited (or called) that are listed on VISA’s site tell me they either do not carry the card or they carry a version from a Green Dot-like intermediary (FastCard, allaccess All-Access, et al).

Bloody hell!

I don’t understand how a ginormous company like VISA can’t know who is and who isn’t carrying their card. Nor can I understand why they haven’t deleted retailers from their site who aren’t carrying their card. And I especially can’t understand how they’re getting their ass kicked all over the place by Green Dot (who?) and its ilk (who?).

So, right now, I still don’t have a way to pay for image storage space here simply because I can’t get the damned kind of card that I want from a company that encompasses the entire frikkin planet.

Can you imagine Microsoft or Apple acting like that?

(Well OK then, Microsoft maybe…)

Comments are closed.

