Warren Ellis Quotes Dennis Potter!

The thought of those two ever being together! Man, now that is a meeting and conversation I would have liked to have seen happen.

Anyway, Ellis has a new weekly column and there’s this:

This, of course, is the price of being a civilized man in Britain today: squatting in the open air, threatened by climatological nightmare and seagull shit while I savour the restorative properties of what Dennis Potter called “little tubes of delight.”

What made me actually go read the column (I’d been amiss in doing so) was the bit Ellis put on his own blog to promo it:

An ex-girlfriend once gave me a book called something like “Four American Writers Who Drank Until Their Livers Caught Fire And Slid Out Of Their Bumholes Like Meaty Napalm.” “Brilliant!” I said. “That wasn’t quite the reaction I was hoping for,” she said.

Ellis’s novel is due out Real Soon Now. Amass your pfennigs in preparation to storm your local book-pusher.

Previously in this blog (Warren Ellis):
(First?) Laugh Of The Day: Warren Ellis
Warren Ellis Is Shocked, Shocked!
Sample Warren Ellis’s Upcoming Novel For Free
Ah, Now I’ll Never Have To Try Red Bullshit!
Bless The Maker And His Water. Bless His Coming And Going.
Now I Know Why Warren Ellis Is Mesmerized By Twittervision
Victor Gischler Has A New Internet Berth
Damn You, Warren Ellis!!!
Things I Never Heard Of Before And Wish I’d Never Heard Of Now
Warren Ellis Speaks Truth!
A Part Of The Web Is Being Killed
Blogroll Additions: Warren Ellis & Sinfest
Go See This Fantastic Animation Video!
Supergirl Express
Warren Ellis Has Too Much Fun
Warren Ellis Has A Crooked Little Brain. And I Thank God For It, Too!
Warren Ellis Chimes In On The Blog Nazis Too
Photo Album: Leatherman
Warren Ellis Would Like This
Warren Ellis Puts His Fingers Into My Head And Plays With My Brain, Again!
Harlan Ellison: Hyperactive Squared!
Quote
Note To Myself: Get This Movie!
The Future Officially Began On February 16, 1978
Warren Ellis’s Worst(?) Nightmare
And Then Google’s Stock Finally Thank You Jesus Crashes And Takes The Entire Global Economy Down The Toilet, Thank You Science!
Aum Shinrikyo Redux
TV: From Infinity to Affinity
Vidmeter
Congratulations to Warren Ellis
Even More Delays…

Previously in this blog (Dennis Potter):
Sad Anniversary: The Death Of Dennis Potter, June 7, 1994
Some Dennis Potter Links
Today Is The Anniversary Of The Birth Of Dennis Potter
The Greatest TV. Ever.
Ew.

Comments are closed.

