Photo Album: Warren Ellis’s Book

After seeing Juliette and the Licks last night (an entry about this later today), I decided to see if I could find Warren Ellis’s novel Crooked Little Vein in the flesh (so to speak).

I went to Forbidden Planet. This is never a trip I like to take. I always leave there wanting to shriek at all the stuff I haven’t read and never know where to begin and cannot fucking all possibly afford to buy anygoddamway. It was no different this time, either.

Anyway, they didn’t have his book. What the fuck? Everything else by him seemed to be well-stocked, graphics-novel-wise. I hope it wasn’t there because it was sold out. Anyway, I didn’t ask. (See description of staff here.)

Then I went to to Barnes & Noble. Another trip I do not like to make for some of the same reasons as above, except with B&N I have the glorious NYPL to save my cash-starved ass alleviate my frustrations. I had to ask what section it was in because they are now — at least at the one store I was in — segregating fiction into little goddam compartments. I was told it was in Mystery.

I went there — and there it was:

Ellisbook01

Here’s close-up action:

Ellisbook02

I didn’t buy it. I don’t know, I have a prejudice against B&N even though they did good for brother writer Dow Mossman. At one time B&N used to discount everything. Now, like every other damned store, they want to be Upscale and have killed most of the discounting.

So I decided to go to Shakespeare & Co. to see if they had it in.

Yeesh.

Shakespeare & Co. just closed their lower-Manhattan store a few weeks back. Not a good sign. But I was shocked by what I saw at the store I went to: they got rid of their entire Mystery section! No more Mystery books, period! So, they didn’t have Ellis’ book. Here I was wanting to buy from them instead of B&N and they were basically telling me to fuck off.

Pissed off, I went home without buying.

Next time.

Previously in this blog:
Warren Ellis Got A New Gig
Warren Ellis: Chapter One Of Next Week’s Novel Available
Warren Ellis Quotes Dennis Potter!
(First?) Laugh Of The Day: Warren Ellis
Warren Ellis Is Shocked, Shocked!
Sample Warren Ellis’s Upcoming Novel For Free
Ah, Now I’ll Never Have To Try Red Bullshit!
Bless The Maker And His Water. Bless His Coming And Going.
Now I Know Why Warren Ellis Is Mesmerized By Twittervision
Victor Gischler Has A New Internet Berth
Damn You, Warren Ellis!!!
Things I Never Heard Of Before And Wish I’d Never Heard Of Now
Warren Ellis Speaks Truth!
A Part Of The Web Is Being Killed
Blogroll Additions: Warren Ellis & Sinfest
Go See This Fantastic Animation Video!
Supergirl Express
Warren Ellis Has Too Much Fun
Warren Ellis Has A Crooked Little Brain. And I Thank God For It, Too!
Warren Ellis Chimes In On The Blog Nazis Too
Photo Album: Leatherman
Warren Ellis Would Like This
Warren Ellis Puts His Fingers Into My Head And Plays With My Brain, Again!
Harlan Ellison: Hyperactive Squared!
Quote
Note To Myself: Get This Movie!
The Future Officially Began On February 16, 1978
Warren Ellis’s Worst(?) Nightmare
And Then Google’s Stock Finally Thank You Jesus Crashes And Takes The Entire Global Economy Down The Toilet, Thank You Science!
Aum Shinrikyo Redux
TV: From Infinity to Affinity
Vidmeter
Congratulations to Warren Ellis
Even More Delays…

Comments are closed.

