Blog Notes: Today’s Fucking Tech Conspiracy

August 30, 2007

I spent a half hour trying to get that last post up. Kept getting evicted by “WordPress is undergoing maintenance on your server, suckah! Because, Mike Cane, we want to personally persecute you!!” messages.

Before that, I had so many JPGs in one folder, it was bringing this rotten PC to its knees. So I had to distribute them into some other folders.

And before that, I had to run AdAware and Spybot Search & Destroy to find out what has been making this PC run so fucking slow. It turned out I had two precursors to that goddammed SmitFraud lurking in the guts. I spent over a week getting rid of that motherfucker last year. Now, even with Avast! AntiVirus running all the goddammed time (I just love the days I get three three three!!! announcements of “Virus database has been updated!” in that jarring mechno-voice — how many fucking virii are out there?!!? And why the fuck can’t the CIA grab those bastards under Extraordinary Rendition and ship them off to be tortured and murdered?!!? — perform a real anti-terrorist service, dammit!), evil things are still slipping in!

I am so far behind not only on previous stuff, but all the stuff I wanted to post today.

Going through MySpace Bulletins alone is eating more time than I could have ever imagined. I might have to start sending out my own very nasty Bulletins to get everyone else to cut back.

I’m throwing in the towel for today. Even while doing this, I’m still getting WordPress maintenance messages.

The Internet Creates Its Own, Uh, Culture

August 30, 2007

That band with the crazy-ass marketing I’ve documented here and here, u239, sent out a link in a MySpace Bulletin.

Chris Hansen – Dateline NBC

About Sound bytes from Dateline NBC’s TO CATCH A PREDATOR series. Chris Hansen is the reporter.

hansenclips.jpg

OK, my question is, if there hadn’t been an Internet to post this on, if audio digitization and editing wasn’t available, would the person behind this have done it with Compact Cassette tapes?!


Free Movie: Zeitgeist

August 30, 2007

Zeitgeist movie home page — embedded Google Flash video

I watched the first five minutes of this. It took that long to get to the frikkin title of the movie!

When the voice narration began, I became suspicious. I clicked on the links at the bottom of the page. This seems to be the product of one of those groups that believes the September 11 attacks were part of a massive government-backed conspiracy. It also mixes in a bunch of prior conspiracy theories into what I guess is a stew so potent that susceptible and ignorant people will swallow it without stopping to question what they’re digesting.

I think it’s mostly bullshit. But you go decide. I stopped five minutes in and won’t go any further.


Ominous Issuance From Band The Perfects

August 30, 2007

Via MySpace Bulletin.

I don’t like this:

The Perfects will not be playing any of the recent show listings that are upcoming.

We greatly appreciate all the fantastic out pouring of love, support and concern!

There will be a statement released soon as to the future of the band.

They sent out a MySpace Bulletin earlier in the week that was retracted (I didn’t know that could be done!) before I had a chance to read it. Only one track is now available on their MySpace Page.

They had a NYC show coming up soon. I had planned to attend with a camera this time. I was looking forward to it.

Previously in this blog:
MySpace Music: Feh!
The Perfects: Live At The Annex, Saturday July 21, 2007


You Wish You Could Be This Good

August 30, 2007

Raquel Villo sends out a Directive from Raquel HQ:

Subject:
uggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggh

Body:

talk.
im bored.
fix it.
[:

 

no messages.

Previously in this blog:
YouTube: Lips Like Morphine


R.I.P. Hilly Kristal, CBGB’s Founder

August 30, 2007

NPR: CBGB’s Hilly Kristal Championed Punk-Rock Spirit

NY Daily News: The value of CBGB’s founder Hilly Kristal

NY Sun: Hilly Kristal, 75, Began CBGB, Home of Punk

I’m reprinting a MySpace Bulletin the band Cheap Perfume sent out:

RIP Our dear friend,

How different our lives would have been without Hilly Kristal. Upon hearing the sad news of his passing at the too-young age of 75, we took a moment to reflect upon the influence Hilly had on literally thousands maybe millions of people. He was a true original forward-thinking enough to turn his creation CBGB/OMFUG into the launching pad for the second wave of hyper-creative rock musicians since the 60s. Would any other club owner have recognized the genius of the Ramones and afforded them the opportunity to grow and develop into the groundbreaking innovators they ultimately became? What about Television? Or Blondie? Or The Talking Heads? Or Patti Smith? Not to mention The Dead Boys, Sorrows, The Shirts, The Plasmatics, The Revelons, Nervus Rex, Quincy, Son, The Police, Marshall Crenshaw, The Tuff Darts, The Demons, The Miamis, The Laughing Dogs the list goes on and on of the crazed and colorful acts that graced the stage of Hillys gritty and authentic music haven. Our own band, Cheap Perfume, had its first gig ever at CBGB in early 79 (where two of our founding members, Susan Palermo and Alison Berger, worked as waitresses), and we came to regard the place almost like our alma mater, our home away from home, our base. Hilly was frequently to be seen in the neighborhood of the East Village. When you saw him, he’d greet you in a very gentlemanly and cordial way, and you just knew he remembered who you were, which band you were in and what instrument you played. (Or at least he made you feel like he did.) The world has lost one of the shapers of popular culture and he will be sorely missed, but fondly and affectionately remembered always.

L, Brenda, Susan, Bunny and Nancy

Cheap Perfume


Hey You Reading This. Don’t Piss Me Off Like This!

August 30, 2007

Help Girls Rock Radio Replace Failed Station Equipment

Dollars raised so far for this request: $ 25.00 USD.
Goal = $2,000.00

I posted about this yesterday the day before too. I sent them US$5.00 via PayPal. That broke the US$0.00 they had been stuck at. I asked you lot to match my measly US$5.00. But only four other people have contributed? (Or was it just one at US$20?)

What the fuck is this?

You don’t pay shit to read this blog. And I’m not looking for any money for it. So send them some. NOW!

Previously in this blog:
Open Yer Damn Wallets!
Help Girls Rock Radio Replace Failed Station Equipment
GRR