Blog Notes: I’m Not Playing Tag

Part of today’s WordPress tinkering has brought Tags!

The difference between tags and categories

We used to have just categories.
These allowed the broad grouping of post topics but when you wanted to describe a post in more specific terms you had to use more categories. That lead to very long category lists inside the blog, very long lists in sidebars. It was also confusing in that what we said were categories others said were tags.

So now we have tags as well.

And:

Is Tag the same as tag ?
Yes. Capitals letters do not change a tag.

Is there a way to manage tags?
Can I see a list of all the tags I have used?
No, there is no way to view the tags you have used.

And:

Is there any advantage to using tags or categories or both?
Not here at WordPress.com and not for any search engines, no.

Well, that last bit seems to settle it for me. I have enough bloody problems sorting my Categories (everytime I bump up against them, I grit my teeth to delay the overhaul they need). I’m not going to devise a frikkin list of standard Tags to use.

Comments are closed.

